Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Style Guide Recommendation for APA, MLA, & Chicago
Purdue University's OWL (Online Writing Lab)
"The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, and we provide these as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects. Teachers and trainers may use this material for in-class and out-of-class instruction."
So what do they provide? They have current style guides available for MLA, APA, and Chicago Manual of Style. They discuss paper formatting requirements, provide explicit examples of in-text and end-text citations based on the different source types (print, online, web, database etc.) and even offer sample papers of each type with extensive content mark-up to guide the learner through the considerations of the citation style throughout the document.
Purdue University's OWL is an outstanding resource and one that I advise all of my students to consult if they're using MLA, APA, or Chicago. I especially recommend it for students who rely on third-party citation generators to double-check their citations.
Reference and Instruction Librarian
, Community Development
What if I don't see the citation style guide I need here?
For more help with the research process, I recommend the following online Subject Guides from the John B. Coleman Librarians:
To find out who your liaison librarian is based on your campus location and/or research discipline, go to Library Liaisons.
Introduction to Citations and Citation Styles
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th Edition
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, educators, and professionals in psychology, sociology, business, economics, nursing, social work, and justice administration, and other disciplines in which effective communication with words and data is fundamental.
"Where can I find the APA Publication Manual?"
John B. Coleman Library owns a print copy of the 7th edition in the Ready Reference Collection located behind the main floor's Reference Desk, a copy at the Northwest Houston Center Library, and a copy in the Houston Clinical Center's Reference for the College of Nursing-Downtown Houston (Fannin St.).
MLA Handbook, 8th Edition
MLA Handbook by
Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format, and new formats required additional instructions. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source.
"Where can I find the MLA Handbook?"
John B. Coleman Library owns a print copy of the 8th edition in the Ready Reference Collection located behind the main floor's Reference Desk.
American Sociological Association Style Guide, 5th Edition
American Sociological Association Style Guide, 4th Edition by
Call Number: HM569 .A54 2010
Publication Date: 2010
"The ASA Style Guide highlights and features guidelines for the most common situations encountered by authors and editors in the ASA journal publication process. It is designed to serve as the authoritative reference for writing, submitting, editing, and copy editing manuscripts for ASA journals"
"Where can I find the ASA Style Guide?"
John B. Coleman Library owns one copy of the 4th edition available in the Ready Reference collection on the main campus.
Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition
The Chicago Manual of Style by
Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords.
"Where can I find the The Chicago Manual of Style?"
John B. Coleman Library owns a print copy of the 17th edition in the Ready Reference Collection located behind the main floor's Reference Desk.
Chicago Manual of Style Online
The Bluebook: a Uniform System of Citation
The Bluebook (15th Edition) by
Call Number: KF245 .B58 2010
Publication Date: 2015-06-25
This resource is recommended for legal citation.
"Where can I find The Bluebook?"
John B. Coleman Library owns three copies on our Main Campus: one in Ready Reference, one in Reference, and a previous edition also available in Reference all on the main campus.