Child and Adolescent Therapy - 33102 - HUSC 5383 - P01: Child and Adolescent Therapy - Childhood Disorders eBooks (full-text)

This book aims to present an extensive review of the available research evidence regarding children with behavioral problems, together with a synthesis of new theoretical and epistemological models whose purpose is to examine and address critical issues within the school and family context. The key elements that characterize the intrapsychic and interpersonal functioning, as well as the family dynamics of these children, are presented analytically from a developmental and transactional perspective.

This concise book is for students and therapists who wish to develop competencies in family therapy and systemic practice with children. Using a fictional clinical case, the book describes the contributions of couple and family psychology (CFP) to the understanding and treatment of emotional and behavioral disorders among children ages 2 to 12. CFP competencies are presented and applied to the case of a nine-year-old girl with school refusal and behavior problems. The book describes how a systemic perspective affects clinical decisions from intake to treatment termination. Specific competencies discussed include: scientific knowledge, assessment, evidence-based practice, intervention, individual and cultural diversity, ethical and legal standards, and reflective practice. Readers will come away from this book with a clear sense of how to conceptualize and treat common childhood emotional and behavioral disorders from a systemic perspective.

Bringing together leading authorities, this volume synthesizes the breadth of current research on child and adolescent treatment into a practical handbook for students and clinicians. The book was inspired by the preeminent work on adult disorders, Clinical Handbook of Psychological Disorders (now in its sixth edition), edited by David H. Barlow. It provides a concise overview of the disorders most commonly encountered in clinical practice and details evidence-based treatment approaches, largely grounded in cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT). Procedures for assessment, diagnosis, case formulation, intervention, and progress monitoring are illustrated with rich extended case examples, including session transcripts. The book addresses nuts-and-bolts issues such as how to set up each session, what to cover, and how to broach difficult topics with children and parents. See also Clinical Handbook of Psychological Disorders, Sixth Edition (on adults), edited by David H. Barlow.

Children living in poverty are more likely to have mental health problems, and their conditions are more likely to be severe. Of the approximately 1.3 million children who were recipients of Supplemental Security Income (SSI) disability benefits in 2013, about 50% were disabled primarily due to a mental disorder. An increase in the number of children who are recipients of SSI benefits due to mental disorders has been observed through several decades of the program beginning in 1985 and continuing through 2010. Nevertheless, less than 1% of children in the United States are recipients of SSI disability benefits for a mental disorder. At the request of the Social Security Administration, Mental Disorders and Disability Among Low-Income Children compares national trends in the number of children with mental disorders with the trends in the number of children receiving benefits from the SSI program, and describes the possible factors that may contribute to any differences between the two groups. This report provides an overview of the current status of the diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders, and the levels of impairment in the U.S. population under age 18. The report focuses on 6 mental disorders, chosen due to their prevalence and the severity of disability attributed to those disorders within the SSI disability program: attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder, oppositional defiant disorder/conduct disorder, autism spectrum disorder, intellectual disability, learning disabilities, and mood disorders. While this report is not a comprehensive discussion of these disorders, Mental Disorders and Disability Among Low-Income Children provides the best currently available information regarding demographics, diagnosis, treatment, and expectations for the disorder time course - both the natural course and under treatment.

Now completely revised (over 90% new), this definitive practitioner reference and course text comprehensively reviews evidence-based treatments for psychological disorders in children and adolescents. The significantly expanded fourth edition covers an increased number of disorders, as well as transdiagnostic issues and public health concerns. Psychosocial, pharmacological, and complementary therapies are identified and described in well-organized chapters that include rich clinical illustrations. Prominent experts address developmental considerations in treatment and offer guidance for tailoring interventions to each child and family's needs. Prior edition title: Treatment of Childhood Disorders, Third Edition, edited by Eric J. Mash and Russell A. Barkley. New to This Edition •All chapters are new, reflecting over a decade of clinical and empirical developments. •Chapters on additional clinical issues: bipolar disorder, suicidal and nonsuicidal self-injury, obsessive–compulsive disorder, infant and toddler problems, posttraumatic stress disorder, coping and emotion regulation, bereavement, early-onset schizophrenia, personality disorders, childhood obesity, and sleep problems. •Chapters on case conceptualization and evidence-based therapist flexibility. •Illustrative case examples and transcripts added throughout. •Updated for DSM-5; every chapter also considers transdiagnostic and dimensional issues. See also the editors' Assessment of Disorders in Childhood and Adolescence, Fifth Edition.

Fears in young children are a part of normal development, as is evidenced by numerous studies that demonstrate that approximately 90% of American children have at least one fearful reaction between the ages of 2 and 14. Anxiety disorders are among the second most common psychiatric disorders among children and adolescents, affecting approximately 10% of all youngsters under the age of 18. Childhood Anxiety Disorders presents information on childhood fears, anxiety and anxiety disorders for mental health professionals. Although firmly rooted in the current scientific research, theory, and discussion, the book is written in a style that is free from technical jargon, making it highly readable. Using the latest research data, this book examines childhood anxiety disorders, including their etiology, psychopathology, and treatment (both pharmacological and psychological). Chapters are devoted to each of the anxiety disorders listed in the DSM-IV-TR Manual, and other chapters cover the fears associated with medical procedures, chronic medical illnesses, and somatic conditions that may develop or are maintained by stress and anxiety, as these are commonly occurring conditions in children and adolescents.

Children and young people with complex mental health needs are increasingly being cared for within specialist mental health care settings, either in the community or in in-patient facilities. With rapid social developments, it can be difficult for carers and practitioners to keep track of the law in this area.This book provides a guide to the law relating to mental health care for children and young people, their rights and entitlement to service, and discusses important issues in clinical and social care practice such as parental responsibility, Gillick competency and capacity, emergency intervention and detention, assessment of mental illness and confidentiality in practice. A chapter written by Mary Mitchell considers the diagnosis and management of complex mental illness in young people, and a concluding chapter discusses changes in the law.Jargon-free and accessibly written, this is an invaluable guide for professionals working in child and adolescent health and social care, social workers, youth workers, social welfare policy makers, medical professionals, teachers, educational professionals and students, as well as advocates for children and young people.

Subjects:
Depression in children
Depression in adolescence
Manic-depressive illness in children
Manic-depressive illness in adolescence
Adolescent psychopathology
Categories:
HEALTH & FITNESS / Diseases / Nervous System (incl. Brain)
PSYCHOLOGY / Developmental / Child
PSYCHOLOGY / Psychopathology / General

Building on the success of the first edition and addressing the advances in the field since its publication, Seija Sandberg has brought together a distinguished, international team to review the area of attention-deficit and hyperactivity disorders (ADHD) in children and young adults. This 2002 edition was thoroughly revised and updated. Some chapters, such as those dealing with the genetic background and the adult form of the disorder, were completely new, and some of the areas dealt with in the first edition are being covered by new authors in the second. The writers are among the world's leading experts, both researchers and clinicians, in the area. This will be essential reading for all professionals involved in the management and care of people with ADHD.

Psychotic disorders are frequently misunderstood and/or misdiagnosed by many clinicians that deal with children, including clinical social workers, mental health counselors, child psychiatrists, and child psychologists. Many times it is difficult for a mental health professional to determine whether the problematic behaviors exhibited (such as hearing voices and seeing things that do not exist) are the result of an altered normal developmental process or the result of a serious mental disorder. Psychotic Disorders in Children and Adolescents will provide mental health professionals and students a resource that contains specific information needed to assess better the exact nature of what is affecting the young patient. The book addresses normal developmental process and cultural influences vs. psychotic disorders; normal grief vs. pathological grief vs. depression; and brief psychotic episodes vs. organic and chronic types of psychosis.