The world’s largest and most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 5.3 thousand full-text periodicals, including 4.4 thousand peer-reviewed journals. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9.3 thousand journals and a total of 10.9 thousand publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. 1866 - current
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.Subjects include: History, Literature, History of Science and Medicine, Law, News and Magazines, Politics, Religion, Education, Women's Studies, Art, American Studies. 1740 - 1940
EBSCO offers the world’s only complete digital version of the Architectural Digest back file. A vibrant monthly celebration of international design talents, the Architectural Digest Magazine Archive provides students of art, design, and architecture with an essential research tool. It covers the history of design, includes inspirational ideas, and provides a look at culture, art, unique homes and international design concepts through the years. 1922 - 2011
Avery has over a half million records dating back to 1741; the single most important resource architecture. Includes the publications of professional associations, state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on international architecture and design. Obituary citations contain biographical data. Note- it is a citation index; this means that you have to do further searching to get the text of the articles. 1930-Present (Selective coverage back to 1741)
Open Source textbooks covering subjects including academic/career success, adult basic education, art and design, biological/physical sciences, business, communication/writing, computer science, earth and ocean science, education, engineering, health and medicine, hospitality/tourism, humanities, language learning, law/criminal justice, math/statistics, social sciences, support resources, and trades. Open Source.
Cambridge Core is the home of academic content from Cambridge University Press.
Cambridge Core is the place to find valuable, useful and inspirational research and academic information. With over 1.6 million journal articles and 36,000+ books, Cambridge Core is the central destination for academic research. Browse subjects HERE with PVAMU logging
Credo Reference is an information skills solutions provider that serves libraries worldwide. Credo is an easy-to-use tool for research, homework, and other reference needs. Gather background information on your topic from over one thousand full-text encyclopedias, subject handbooks, and current events resources, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos. Credo promotes knowledge building, problem solving and critical thinking to give people the information skills necessary for success throughout their academic, professional and personal lives. Search Tips for Credo Reference
Culinary Arts Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines on all aspects of cooking and nutrition. The database includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.
The E-Journals database provides article-level access for thousands of e-journals available through EBSCO Subscription Services. For users with a valid subscription, EBSCO's SmartLinks technology provides direct links to publishers' content.
EBSCOhost’s Collection provides coverage of more than 500 full text peer-reviewed journals. Covers social behavior, human tendencies, community development, culture and social structure. Updated daily.
Expanded Academic ASAP provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers across disciplines. The database meets research needs in subject areas including the arts and humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with the following features:
Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results
Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic
Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research
Colorful, mobile-friendly design with feature areas that provide context to students
Reading level indicators (Lexile® Measures) to simplify discovery of grade-appropriate content
Text-to-speech for HTML articles to assist struggling readers or those learning English
Curriculum Standards Module to help educators correlate EBSCO content quickly and easily to Common Core, state- or province-specific curriculum standards.
Topics included: Animals, Arts and Music, Biographies, Geography, Language Arts, Math, Science and Health, and Social Studies.
Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with the following features:
Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results
Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic
Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research
Colorful, mobile-friendly design with feature areas that provide context to students
Reading level indicators (Lexile® Measures) to simplify discovery of grade-appropriate content
Text-to-speech for HTML articles to assist struggling readers or those learning English
Curriculum Standards Module to help educators correlate EBSCO content quickly and easily to Common Core, state- or province-specific curriculum standards.
Topics included in Explora - High Schools:
Arts and Literature, Biography, Business and Government, Current Issues, Geography, Health, History, and Science and Math.
Explora is EBSCO's interface for Schools and Public Libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with the following features:
Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results
Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic
Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research
Colorful, mobile-friendly design with feature areas that provide context to students
Reading level indicators (Lexile® Measures) to simplify discovery of grade-appropriate content
Text-to-speech for HTML articles to assist struggling readers or those learning English
Topics included in Explora - Public Libraries:
Arts and Literature, Biography, Business and Careers, Current Events, Geography and Culture, Health, History and Social Science, and Science and Math.
Films On Demand - Digital Educational Video streaming database includes Master Academic Package and Nursing Videos. The database includes the Academic Master Package with subjects including anthropology, art & architecture, communication, counselling and social work, criminal justice and law, education, English, history, music and dance, philosophy, religion, political science, psychology, sociology, technology and society, world languages, biology, engineering, earth science, environmental science, geography, mathematics, physical science, business, economics, and health science, and the Nursing Video Collection.
Fine Arts and Music Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
Forbes Magazine Archive is a complete digital version of the Forbes backfile. With coverage starting at the magazine’s first issue in 1917, the archive offers 70 years’ worth of content not available on any other EBSCO full-text product. Forbes has delivered key insight on the business and financial world for nearly a century. With EBSCO’s Forbes Magazine Archive, researchers have unrivaled electronic access to the world’s best business news. This fully searchable full-text archive provides analysis on business leaders, politics, entertainment, technology, communication, culture, and style. 1917-2000
Fortune Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the long-running business magazine dating from its very first issue in February 1930 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published monthly by Time Inc., the magazine sought to provide news and analysis of both American and, later, international business, economics, technology, and industry. Each issue featured vivid color illustrations and photographs, as well as high-quality feature articles, published at a time when most business magazines were merely black and white compendiums of statistics and figures. 1930-2000
General OneFile is a one-stop source for news, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, General OneFile serves a wide audience of readers.
General Reference Center Gold provides access to magazines, newspapers, trade publications, and reference books through one easy interface. This general interest database offers the latest content covering current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
Content Includes
Full text for nearly 2,000 magazines and books
More than 720 videos
More than 180 hobby profiles
More than 11,000 recipes
A unique, dedicated user interface
Current research topics covering key global issues, and people about business, economics, crime, politics, science, health, sports, the arts and more. Can be viewed by month/year.
Infobase Learning Resources (Issues & Controversies, Today's Science, World News Digest, Today's Science, Films On Demand/Digital Educational Video) available for PVAMU on and off campus. Films On Demand includes Master Academic Package and Nursing Videos.
Life Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning its very first issue in November 1936 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published by Time Inc., the magazine has featured story-telling through documentary photographs and informative captions. Each issue visually and powerfully depicted national and international events and topical stories, providing intimate views of real people and their real-life situations. 1936 - 2000
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1922. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Complete also contains full text for more than 1,000 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents and reference books such as the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia and the Encyclopedia of Animals. Full-text magazines include Sports Illustrated Kids, Scholastic News, National Geographic and dozens more.
All full-text articles are assigned reading level indicators (Lexiles) that provide educators with an estimate of the result’s reading difficulty and the approximate grade-level reading ability required for comprehension. Lexiles help teachers meet the needs of students with varying reading abilities and interests and allow students to read along at their own pace. More than 170 full-text magazines
More than 1.7 million relevant photos, maps and flags
Nearly 80,000 full-text biographies
More than 55,000 full-text primary source documents
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
Play Index searches over 30,000 plays written from Antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present in the convenient electronic form that patrons prefer. An invaluable aid to finding the perfect plays, Play Index covers a wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama. Search for plays by title; author; subject (sisters, culture conflict, marriage); style (symbolism, experimental theater); genre (comedy, melodrama, musical); cast type.
Full text access to over 600 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from Johns Hopkins' University Press, as well as a growing number of other University Presses and scholarly publishers. Coverage is current with years of back issues varying by title.
Published by: Johns Hopkins University Press
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
You have access to:
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Business
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Health & Medicine
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: History
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Literature & Language
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Science & Technology
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Social Sciences
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: The Arts
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics. in all instances.
You have access to:
Research Library: Business
Research Library: Health & Medicine
Research Library: History
Research Library: Literature & Language
Research Library: Science & Technology
Research Library: Social Sciences
Research Library: The Arts
includes articles from more than 80 journals and books about Texas and Texans. Topics include history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business, home, garden, sports and leisure.
This databases portal webpage from Texas State Library & Archives Commission provides a complete list of Texshare databases. The links from this page are accessible from PVAMU campus network computers only.
The Atlantic Magazine Archive, 1857-2014, covers events and political issues through literary and cultural commentary. It includes more than 1,800 issues providing a broad view of 19th, 20th and early 21st-Century American thought. The magazine was originally created with a focus on publishing leading writers’ commentary on abolition, education and other major issues in contemporary political affairs at the time. Over its more than 150 years of publication, The Atlantic has featured articles in the fields of politics, foreign affairs, business and the economy, culture and the arts, technology, science and more. 1857-2014
The Time Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published weekly by Time Inc., the magazine has focused on conveying to a broad audience both domestic and international news and analysis on a spectrum of subjects. 1923 - 2000
Vanity Fair Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the popular magazine in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format, dating from its very first issue. The original version of the magazine featured popular, avant-garde covers for its first run from September 1913 through February 1936. Vanity Fair was relaunched 47 years later in March 1983 with a new cover look focused on celebrity portraits and political figures. Published by Conde Nast Publications, the magazine highlights artists, illustrators and writers providing in-depth coverage and social commentary. Beginning with the Jazz Age, the archive chronicles popular culture, fashion, celebrity portraiture and politics through the years. 1913 to 1936 and 1983 to 2015
Search journals and ebooks from Wiley Online Library in multiple fields. Full text for selected subscribed journals, abstracts for non-subscribed journals, some open source contents available.
African American Art: Databases African American Studies
The world’s largest and most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 5.3 thousand full-text periodicals, including 4.4 thousand peer-reviewed journals. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9.3 thousand journals and a total of 10.9 thousand publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. 1866 - current
This collection was developed in conjunction with the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) as part of an effort to preserve endangered serials related to African American religious life and culture. The product of more than 10 years of organizing and collecting materials, the African American Historical Serials Collection is a complete, centralized and accessible resource of formerly fragmentary, widely-dispersed and endangered materials—titles were collected from 75 institutions, including small institutions that had not previously participated in preservation projects. 1829-1922
The early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century, including Paul Laurence Dunbar and Frances Ellen Watkins Harper.
The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: 1691-1820 presents over 500 titles from 1691 through 1820. Representing over two centuries of print culture from early colonial imports to titles published on American soil during the Revolution and early republic, Series 1 is first of the five series created from periodical holdings from one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The entire AAS collection features over 7500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. The subject matter covered in Series 1 is broad in scope and covers all aspects of American society during this time period.
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection Series 2 presents over 1000 titles dating from 1821 through 1837. The series two is second of the five series created from serials holdings belonging to one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society and featuring about 6500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. The subject matter covered in Series 2 represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history and is broad in scope and includes agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics.
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 presents over 1,800 titles dating from 1838 through 1852. Series 3 is the third of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The themes presented in Series 3 reveal a rapidly growing young nation, where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences, and life on the western frontier were daily realities. Subjects covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection - Series 4 presents over 1,100 titles dating from 1853 through 1865. Series 4 is the fourth of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection, we also find a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war. News from the battlefront can be found, in addition to the usual breadth of subject matter found in previous collections that include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5 presents over 2,500 titles dating from 1866 through 1877. Series 5 is the fifth of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The themes presented in Series 5 reflect a nation that persevered through a most difficult set of circumstances: a bloody civil war that claimed hundreds of thousands of lives; the incorporation of the recently-freed African Americans into American life; a population that rapidly expanded into the Western territories. Broad subject areas covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
